Skip to main content
Eberly Science

Science and sustainability
have a home in the Eberly College of Science

The Sustainability Council seeks to integrate UN Sustainable Development Goals across the College
17 Sustainable Development Goals

What are the Sustainable Development Goals?

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries - developed and developing - in a global partnership. They recognize that ending poverty and other deprivations must go hand-in-hand with strategies that improve health and education, reduce inequality, and spur economic growth – all while tackling climate change and working to preserve our oceans and forests.

Chemistry department’s helium recovery system now operational

Tapas Mal, Scott Showalter, Larry Johns, and Christy George outside the Chemistry Building

Keeping coral reefs healthy

Smart fishing practices could help maintain reefs that are already facing decline due to climate change.

Diver in coral reef

Capturing light in a waveguide array

Cheaper and more efficient photonic devices, such as lasers, optical fibers, and other light sources, may be possible with confined light that is unaffected by imperfections in the material that confines it.

Wave guide array
Sustainability Council members 2020

Eberly Sustainability Council

The Eberly College of Science Sustainability Council is composed of representatives from each unit within the college and seeks to integrate the UN Sustainable Development Goals into all of our college’s activities. We interact with the Sustainability Institute at Penn State, and welcome input from all members of the Eberly College of Science as we work together to enhance the livability of our shared planet and to ensure health, well being, and equal opportunity for all people.

Members of the committee include (Front row: Raymond Friend, Jr., Diane Henderson, Melissa Diamanti, and Ying Gu. Back row: Joel Ranck, Bruce Lord, Charles T. Anderson (chair), and Julia Kregenow. Absent: Mynthia Cabrera Goss, Mary Beth Williams and Larry Johns)